Institute for Sanitary Engineering, Water Quality and Solid Waste Management

Department of Biological Waste Air Purification

The Department of Biological Waste Air Purification, headed by Prof. Dr. K.-H. Engesser, focuses on environmental microbiology, the analysis of biosystems and biocoenoses, the degradation of chemicals in water, soil and air, non-thermal waste air purification processes and the associated gas analysis.

In research and teaching, we deal with environmental microbiology and its technical application in biological waste air purification. This involves the bacterial degradation of environmental pollutants, process development for waste air problems and the solution of analytical tasks.

The independent Department of Biological Waste Air Purification is part of the Chair of Waste Management and Emissions of the Institute for Sanitary Engineering, Water Quality and Waste Management and has been headed by Prof. Dr. K.-H. Engesser since 1992.

In biological waste air purification, the ability of microorganisms to use chemicals as food, to convert them into harmless substances and to multiply in the process is exploited. When they are deployed on carrier material, the waste air to be cleaned flows around them and a sprinkler system supplies them with water. Biofilters, biotrickling filters or bioscrubbers: Which treatment process comes to use is determined by the water solubility of the exhaust air components.

Typical applications are the cleaning of solvent-containing waste air from paint shops, coating plants and foundries, as well as the elimination of odours from composting plants or sewage sludge drying and desulphurisation during biogas purification.
Biological systems can be combined with each other or with other non-biological exhaust air purification processes such as mechanical separators, wet or chemical scrubbers, adsorbers, condensers and plasma processes.

Depending on the application, different construction methods (container, column, closed, open), carrier materials (inert: polymer packing, foams; organic: wood chips, coconut fiber) and moisture regimes are possible or necessary.

Biological processes are particularly suitable for waste air with temperatures between 25-35 °C and low to moderate loading (several 100 mg/m³).

 

Environmental Microbiology

Environmental microbiology is concerned with the research and use of microorganisms for the prevention, disposal and purification of anthropogenic emission streams. Areas of application are waste air and waste water treatment, soil remediation and the elimination of negative ecological effects caused by the input of pollutants.

Biological degradation of pollutants

The central element is the investigation of the fundamentals of the biological degradation of environmental pollutants, as they occur in industrial waste air, and other substances from other environmental areas, such as fuel additives, plasticizers and drug residues. These substances are aromatics (mainly halogenated, heterocycles, benzoic acid derivatives, PAHs), alkanes (cyclic and branched), sulfur organics and ether compounds.

The degradation studies take place both in the mesophilic and in the lower thermophilic range, in aerobic and anaerobic environments or under extreme conditions such as hypersaline conditions. In addition to yeasts and fungi, the main contributors to these degradation processes are bacteria, which are isolated, identified and characterised. The questions that arise are addressed on a genetic and enzymatic level.

Biotransformation

Biotransformation involves the production of chemical compounds through biosynthesis, which can only be obtained by conventional chemical methods with high energy input, poor yield or low purity. Research is directed at the production and use of whole cell catalysts or enzymes and enzyme groups isolated herefrom for the production of valuable substances - preferably using secondary or renewable raw materials.

Analytics

Gas analysis

The selection of suitable waste air purification processes, the evaluation of the cleaning performance of existing installations but also the question of partial or complete pollutant degradation in the waste air purification plant requires a well-founded assessment of the emission spectrum.

The determination of the respective freight in gas, liquid and solid phase as well as the identification of the waste air components in the emission spectrum is carried out by means of flame ionisation detectors (FID), gas chromatographs with mass spectrometers (GC-MS, headspace GC-MS, GC-MS olfactometer), gas chromatographs with selectively coupled detectors (GC-PFPD-PDD-MS), Fourier transform infrared spectrometry (FTIR), liquid chromatography (HPLC-UV/VIS, IC), chemical digestion methods (e.g. TOC) and other wet chemical detection methods.

Germ detection and biocoenosis analysis

Technical and natural systems naturally contain and emit a wide variety of germs, which can be of medical and technical relevance in certain cases. In this context, the analysis of the composition of the biocoenosis from different environmental compartments and technical installations is of great importance.

The legal requirement for this is given with the amendment of the BioStoffV, the 42nd BImSchV, the VDI guideline 3478 as well as the appendix 9 of the TA-Luft 2019. Various detectors and sampling systems, such as impinger, cascade impactor, slot impactor and scattered light photometer, as well as genetic tools (PCR, 16S cloning, sequencing) are used.

Contact

Dieses Bild zeigt Engesser
Prof. Dr.

Karl-Heinrich Engesser

Head of Departement "Biological Waste Air Purification" (ALR)

Dieses Bild zeigt Dobslaw
Privatdozent Dr.-Ing. habil.

Daniel Dobslaw

Leader of "exhaust air purification" (ALR)

To the top of the page

Dieses Bild zeigt

Institut für Siedlungswasserbau, Wassergüte- und Abfallwirtschaft

Abteilung Biologische Abluftreinigung (ALR)

Die Abteilung Biologische Abluftreinigung unter der Leitung von Herrn Prof. Dr. K.-H. Engesser befasst sich schwerpunktmäßig mit der Umweltmikrobiologie, der Analytik von Biosystemen und Biozönosen, dem Abbau von Chemikalien in Wasser, Boden und Luft, nicht-thermischen Abluftreinigungsverfahren sowie der dazugehörigen Gasanalytik.

Wir beschäftigen uns in Forschung und Lehre mit der Umweltmikrobiologie und ihrem technischen Einsatz in der biologischen Abluftreinigung. Dabei geht es um den bakteriellen Abbau von Umweltschadstoffen, die Verfahrensentwicklung für Abluftprobleme und die Lösung analytischer Aufgaben.

Die eigenständige Abteilung Biologische Abluftreinigung ist Teil des Lehrstuhls Abfallwirtschaft und Abluft des Institutes für Siedlungswasserbau, Wassergüte- und Abfallwirtschaft und wird seit 1992 von Herrn Prof. Dr. K.-H. Engesser geleitet.

Biologische Abluftreinigung

In der biologischen Abluftreinigung wird sich die Fähigkeit von Mikroorganismen zu Nutze gemacht, Chemikalien als Nahrung zu verwenden, sie in unschädliche Stoffe umzuwandeln und sich dabei zu vermehren. Auf Trägermaterial angesiedelt, werden sie mit der zu reinigenden Abluft umströmt und mit einer Beregnungsanlage mit Wasser versorgt. Dabei bestimmt die Wasserlöslichkeit der Abluftkomponenten das Reinigungsverfahren: Biofilter, Biotricklingfilter oder Biowäscher.

Typische Anwendungsfälle sind die Reinigung von lösemittelhaltigen Ablüften, wie sie aus Lackierereien, Beschichtungsanlagen und Gießereien freigesetzt werden, genauso wie die Geruchseliminierung aus Kompostierungsanlagen oder Klärschlammtrocknungen sowie die Entschwefelung bei der Biogasaufreinigung.
Biologische Systeme können miteinander oder mit anderen nicht-biologischen Abluftreinigungsverfahren kombiniert werden, wie mechanischen Abscheidern, Nass- oder chemischen Wäschern, Adsorbern, Kondensatoren und Plasmaverfahren.

Je nach Anwendungsfall sind unterschiedliche Bauweisen (Container, Kolonne, geschlossen, offen), Trägermaterialien (inert: Polymer-Füllkörper, Schäume; organisch: Holzhack, Kokosfaser) und Feuchtigkeitsregimes möglich bzw. nötig.

Biologische Verfahren eignen sich besonders gut für Ablüfte mit Temperaturen zwischen 25-35 °C und geringer bis mäßiger Beladung (mehrere 100 mg/m³).

Umweltmikrobiologie

Die Umweltmikrobiologie beschäftigt sich mit der Erforschung und Nutzung von Mikroorganismen zur Vermeidung, Entsorgung und Reinigung zivilisatorischer Emissionsströme. Einsatzgebiete sind die Abluft- und Abwasserreinigung, die Bodensanierung sowie die Behebung negativer ökologischer Auswirkungen des Eintrags von Schadstoffen.

Biologischer Abbau von Schadstoffen

Das zentrale Element ist die Erforschung der Grundlagen des biologischen Abbaus von Umweltschadstoffen, wie sie in industriellen Ablüften vorkommen, und weiteren Stoffen aus anderen Umweltbereichen, wie z.B. Treibstoffadditiven, Weichmachern und Medikamentenrückständen. Stoffbezogen handelt es sich hierbei um Aromaten (vor allem halogenierten, Heterozyklen, Benzoesäurederivaten, PAKs), Alkane (zyklische und verzweigte), Schwefelorganika sowie Etherverbindungen.

Die Abbauuntersuchungen finden sowohl im mesophilen wie auch im unteren thermophilen Bereich, in aeroben sowie anaeroben Milieus oder unter extremen Bedingungen, wie z.B. hypersalinen Verhältnissen, statt. Die Leistungsträger bei diesen Abbauvorgängen sind neben Hefen und Pilzen vor allem Bakterien, die isoliert, identifiziert und charakterisiert werden. Die dabei auftretenden Fragestellungen werden auf genetischer und enzymatischer Ebene angegangen.

Biotransformation

Bei der Biotransformation geht es um die Darstellung von chemischen Verbindungen durch Biosynthese, welche durch herkömmliche chemische Methoden nur unter hohem Energieeinsatz, schlechter Ausbeute oder niedriger Reinheit gewinnbar sind. Die Forschung befasst sich dabei mit der Gewinnung und Nutzung von Ganzzellkatalysatoren oder daraus isolierter Enzyme und Enzymgruppen zur Produktion von Wertstoffen - vorzugsweise unter Einsatz von Sekundär- oder nachwachsenden Rohstoffen.

Analytik

Gasanalytik

Die Auswahl geeigneter Abluftreinigungsverfahren, die Evaluierung der Reinigungsleistung bei bestehenden Systemen aber auch die Frage des partiellen oder vollständigen Schadstoffabbaus in der Abluftreinigungsanlage erfordert eine fundierte Erfassung des Emissionsspektrums.

Die Ermittlung der jeweils auftretenden Fracht in Gas-, Flüssig- und Festphase sowie die Identifizierung der Abluftinhaltsstoffe im Emissionsspektrum erfolgt mittels Flammenionisationsdetektoren (FID), Gaschromatographen mit Massenspektrometer (GC-MS, Headspace-GC-MS, GC-MS-Olfaktometer), Gaschromatographen mit selektiven gekoppelten Detektoren (GC-PFPD-PDD-MS), Fourier-Transform-Infrarotspektrometrie (FTIR), Flüssigkeitschromatographie (HPLC-UV/VIS, IC), Aufschlussverfahren (z.B. TOC) sowie weiteren nasschemischen Nachweismethodiken.

Keimanalytik und Biozönosenanalyse

Technische und natürliche Systeme enthalten und emittieren selbstverständlich unterschiedlichste Keime, die in bestimmten Fällen von medizinischer und technischer Relevanz sein können. In diesem Zusammenhang ist die Analyse der Zusammensetzung der Biozönose aus verschiedenen Umweltkompartimenten und technischen Anlagen von großer Bedeutung.

Die gesetzliche Maßgabe hierzu ist mit der Novellierung der BioStoffV, der 42. BImSchV, der VDI-Richtlinie 3478 sowie des Anhangs 9 der TA-Luft 2019 gegeben. Zum Einsatz kommen hierbei verschiedene Detektoren und Probennahmesysteme, wie Impinger, Kaskadenimpaktor, Schlitzimpaktor und Streulichtphotometer, sowie genetische Werkzeuge (PCR, 16S-Klonierung, Sequenzierung).

Kontakt

Dieses Bild zeigt Engesser
Prof. Dr.

Karl-Heinrich Engesser

Abteilungsleitung "Biologische Abluftreinigung" (ALR)