Chair of

Hydrochemistry and Hydrobiology in Sanitary Engineering

We deal with topics of environmental chemistry and environmental analysis with main focus on organic micropollutants, all questions about analytical quality assurance as well as biological processes of nitrogen elimination

GC sample injection
GC sample injection

Water is the basic requirement for life and, thus, particularily worth to be protected. Chemical substances introduced into the evironment by human activity can have negative effects on the ecosystem, some of them can influence the quality of potable water or the processes of wastewater treatment. 

We investigate the chemical quality of water (ground, surface, wastewater, potable water) as well as the chemical basics of natural and technical processes such as the   treatment of potable and wastewater, remediation of contaminated groundwater or composting of green waste. In interdisciplinary cooperation with microbiologists and engineers we work out solutions for the improvement of the quality of water and the environment and  among others deal with

  • the investigation of chemical processes in environmental technical plants
  • the determination of elimination efficiencies and chemical loads  in sewage treatment plants
  • water and evironmental analysis (determination of summary parameters and individual compounds):
    • organic micropollutants: pharmaceutical drugs, hormones, pesticides / biocides, PCB, dioxins, PAHs, flame retardants,...
    • inorganic compounds: nutrients, anions
    • heavy metal and elemental analysis
    • effect-based analysis (determination of estrogenic/hormonal activity of environmental samples)
  • quality assurance in chemical analysis: proficiency testing, advanced and in-house training
  • biological nitrogen elimination, e.g. in aquacultures
  • biological processes of remediation (CHC elimination)

The Chair of Hydrochemistry and Hydrobiology in Sanitary Engineering at ISWA was headed by Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Jörg W. Metzger from 04/1996 till 04/2020. The chair is divided into the working groups Hydrochemistry and Analytical Quality Assurance (Head: Dr.-Ing. Michael Koch) and Hydrobioly and Organic Trace Compounds (Head: Dr. rer. nat. Bertram Kuch).

Since 04/2020 Dr. Kuch has taken over the provisional management of the chair.

Contact

This picture showsDörte Hahn
 

Dörte Hahn

Secretary (KomS/CH)

This picture showsBertram Kuch
Dr. rer. nat.

Bertram Kuch

Leader of "Hydrobiology and Analysis of Organic Trace Compounds" (BiOS), takes over the official business of the chair by proxy since 01.04.2020

To the top of the page

Lehrstuhl für

Hydrochemie und Hydrobiologie in der Siedlungswasserwirtschaft

Wir beschäftigen uns mit umweltchemischen und umweltanalytischen Themen mit Schwerpunkt organische Spurenstoffe, allen Fragen der Qualitätssicherung in der chemischen Umweltanalytik sowie biologischen Verfahren der Stickstoffeliminierung

GC-Probeninjektion
GC-Probeninjektion

Wasser ist die Grundvoraussetzung für Leben und damit in hohem Maße schützenswert. Viele durch menschliche Aktivität in die Umwelt eingebrachte chemische Stoffe haben negative Auswirkungen auf das Ökosystem, manche können die Trinkwasserqualität oder Abwasserreinigungsprozesse beeinträchtigen.

Wir untersuchen die chemische Qualität von Wasser (Grundwasser, Oberflächenwasser, Abwasser, Trinkwasser) sowie chemische Grundlagen natürlicher und umweltverfahrenstechnischer Prozesse wie beispielsweise die Aufbereitung von Trink- und Abwasser, die Sanierung von kontaminiertem Grundwasser oder die Kompostierung von Grünabfällen. In interdisziplinärer Zusammenarbeit mit Mikrobiologen und Ingenieuren erarbeiten wir Lösungen zur Verbesserung der Wasser- und Umweltqualität und beschäftigen uns dabei u.a. mit

  • der Untersuchung chemischer Prozesse in umwelttechnischen Anlagen
  • der Bestimmung von Eliminierungseffizienzen und Frachten in Kläranlagen
  • Wasser- und Umweltanalytik (Bestimmung von Summenparametern und Einzelstoffen):
    • Organische Spurenstoffe: Arzneimittel, Hormone, Pestizide / Biozide, PCB, Dioxine, PAK, Flammschutzmittel,...
    • Anorganische Stoffe: Nährstoffe, Anionen
    • Schwermetall- und Elementanalytik
    • Wirkungsbezogene Analytik (Bestimmung estrogener/hormoneller Aktivität von Umweltproben)
  • Qualitätssicherung in der chemischen Analytik: Ringversuche, Fortbildung
  • Biologische Stickstoffeliminierung, z.B. in Aquakulturen
  • Biologische Sanierungsverfahren (CKW-Eliminierung)

Der Lehrstuhl für Hydrochemie und Hydrobiologie in der Siedlungswasserwirtschaft am ISWA wurde von 04/1996 bis 04/2020  von Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Jörg W. Metzger geleitet und gliedert sich in die Arbeitsbereiche Hydrochemie und Analytische Qualitätssicherung (Leiter: Dr.-Ing. Michael Koch) und Hydrobiologie und Organische Spurenstoffe (Leiter: Dr. rer. nat. Bertram Kuch). Herr Kuch hat seit 04/2020 die kommissarische Leitung des Lehrstuhls übernommen.

Kontakt

Dieses Bild zeigt  Dörte Hahn
 

Dörte Hahn

Sekretariat (KomS/CH)

Dieses Bild zeigt  Bertram Kuch
Dr. rer. nat.

Bertram Kuch

Arbeitsbereichsleiter "Hydrobiologie und Organische Spurenanalytik" (BiOS), übernimmt stellvertretend die Amtsgeschäfte des Lehrstuhls seit 01.04.2020

Zum Seitenanfang